The Master of Philosophy (MPhil) is a postgraduate research degree. Entry to the MPhil is available to students who have completed at least a 3 year BSc in Physics with a credit or higher average (or equivalent). This is the same requirement as entry for Physics honours.

Features of the MPhil:

It is 3 sessions (72 Units of Credit - UOC) long. It can be started in February or July.

Although the MPhil is a research degree, you have to complete 24 UOC worth of courses which are usually four postgraduate courses (in areas such as Theoretical Physics, Astrophysics, or Solid State Physics). (However, the School or your supervisor may recommend that you do other postgraduate courses.)

You complete 1 research project over the 3 sessions. Your thesis is assessed by two examiners, both external to the University.

How To Apply

Entry to the MPhil is through a postgraduate research application directly to UNSW.

Fees and Scholarships

  • Local Students: Since the MPhil is a postgraduate research degree, local students are not required to pay course tuition fees. The Australian Postgraduate Award (APA)/ and University Postgraduate Award (UPA) scholarships are NOT available to students undertaking a Master of Philosphy.
  • International students would pay postgraduate research fees. Note that students will be required to pay for 72 UOC (the annual fee quoted is for 48 UOC). Please note that Endeavour International Postgraduate Research Scholarships (EIPRS) and the University International Postgraduate Awards (UIPA) are not available for students undertaking the MPhil.

Further information is available from the Graduate Research School or for the School of Physics’ Postgraduate Director.