Welcome to the School of Physics at The University of New South Wales, Sydney. We take pride in being one of the leading Physics departments in Australia, in the quality and breadth of research programs, in the stature of our academic staff, in the strength and vitality of our teaching programs, and in our community outreach activities.

The School currently has some 26 permanent academic staff, approximately 50 research staff and 30 support staff. Each year we teach more than 1500 first year undergraduates and over 50 students are currently enrolled in postgraduate research degrees. Physics degrees can be combined with many of the undergraduate courses available at UNSW. Double degrees are a popular choice (allowing a science major to be combined with one in another faculty, for example Arts, Commerce, Education, Engineering or Law). Our postgraduate students gain employment in exciting positions both in industry and at leading research institutes both in Australia and internationally.

In addition to a rigorous traditional undergraduate curriculum (the Bachelor of Science Program), we offer a prestigious and demanding Advanced Science Program for high achieving students. Our undergraduate program is distinguished by a very wide choice of elective subjects in higher years and by high quality laboratory subjects.

We welcome students come from all over the world. UNSW is located just a few minutes drive from the centre of Sydney, and even closer to the lively eastern suburbs and their beaches. Sydney, a vibrant, international city (nearly 40% of the four million population being born overseas) offers a rich and varied cultural and educational lifestyle.

Please do not hesitate to contact us to find out more about our School and its coursework or research programs.

[[ about us | high school physics | future students | current students | research | staff directory | news and events ]
Faculty of Science | Physics Main Page| UNSW Main Page ]
CRICOS Provider Code - 00098G Disclaimer
School of Physics - The University of New South Wales - Sydney Australia 2052
Site comments
physicsweb@phys.unsw.edu.au © School of Physics UNSW 2052