The Joint Australian Centre for Astrophysical Research in Antarctica, JACARA, has been constituted to facilitate Australian participation in the development of Antarctic astronomy. It has joint nodes at the School of Physics in the University of New South Wales, and at Mount Stromlo and Siding Springs Observatories in the Australian National University. A complete Jacara bibliography can be found here.
PLATO, the PLATeau Observatory, is a self-contained automated platform for conducting year-round, experiments completely robotically from the Antarctic plateau.
The Automated Astronomical Site-Testing Observatory is a self-powered, self-heated observatory that can operate autonomously in Antarctica for up to 12 months at a time. Its purpose is to carry out a comprehensive series of measurements of astronomical observing conditions on the antarctic plateau, providing information for planning new observatory sites for the 21st century.
The AASTINO is a joint Australia-France-Italy-US experiment to categorise the qualities of Dome C for a future astronomical observatory. Dome C is an isolated site on the high Antarctic plateau. The AASTINO was first deployed at Dome C in January 2003. The AASTINO is a self-powered robotic observatory controlled by a GNU/Linux computer, communicating with the Internet via an Iridium phone. The AASTINO includes a webcamera, a sonic radar (SODAR), a submillimeter sky monitor (SUMMIT), and associated experiments to measure the mid-IR sky emission (COBBER) and cloud cover (ICECAM).
South Pole Diaries
Since 1994 astronomers from the University of New South Wales have been venturing to Antarctica as part of a project to development an astronomical observatory on the high Antarctic plateau. These pages record the daily diaries of the research team as they tackle the many challenges that face them on this endeavour.

[People] [Research] [Students] [Resources] [Contact Us]
[Physics Main Page ] [ UNSW Main Page ]

School of Physics - The University of New South Wales - Sydney Australia 2052
Site Comments:
Jon Everett School of Physics - UNSW 2010