Statistics for the School of Physics 2006

Staff Numbers
Professors: 11 (1 female, 10 male), including
2 Federation Fellows
1 Australian Professorial Fellow
Associate Professors: 6 (6 male)
Senior Lecturers: 8 (6 female, 2 male)
Lecturers: 4 (2 female, 2 male)
Research Staff: 36 (7 female, 29 male)
Professional and Technical Staff: 35 (10 female, 25 male)

Postgraduate Research Students: 56 (14 female, 42 male)
PhD Degrees Awarded: 8
Honours Degrees Awarded: 11

External Research Funds: Aus$5,789,311 (School of Physics $3,556,423; Centre for Quantum Computer Technology $2, 232,888)

Refereed Publications: 217
Conference Presentations: 104, at 61 conferences
Seminars and Other Presentations: 88
Media Appearances: 23

During 2006, staff from the School have attended conferences on average, over once every week, and have given four talks and seminars a week. Articles about the School have appeared in the media every fortnight throughout the year.


Jessie Christiansen

Best Student Poster at the Astronomical Society of Australia's General

Robert Clark

Australian Defence Medal, for service as an Officer, RAN, 1969-79
Finalist, CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science.
Scientia Professor conferred for second term, University of New South Wales.
Certificate of Appreciation - US National Security Agency Laboratory for Physical Sciences for presentation on Single Atom Nanoelectronics and Spintronics for Silicon-Based Qubits and in recognition of contribution to NSA-LPS’ efforts in promoting excellence in scientific research.

Warrick Clarke

NSW Nominee for AIP Bragg Medal

Tamara Davis

UNSW U Committee Award for Research Excellence in Science

Alex Hamilton

2006 Australasian Science Prize

George Hatsidimitris

Carrick Institute Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student

Adam Micolich

2006 Young Tall Poppy Science Award

Yakov Kulik

University Medal

Richard Newbury

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Dean Robinson

University Medal

Michelle Simmons

Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Science
Cosmos Magazine ‘Australia’s top ten scientific minds under 45’

John Smith

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Joe Wolfe

2006 NSW Quality Teaching Award




[ about us | high schools | future students | current students | research | news and events ]
Faculty of Science | Physics Main Page| UNSW Main Page ]
CRICOS Provider Code - 00098G Disclaimer
School of Physics - The University of New South Wales - Sydney Australia 2052
Site comments © School of Physics UNSW 2052